Zippy Brief – February 2018

February is time to celebrate the content of community media — its diversity, originality, community relevance, its entertainment, information and production value.
In Somerville, home of Massachusetts’ oldest cable access station, Somerville Media Center celebrated the community media makers with our WrestleMedia 2018 event. Congratulations to this year’s winners as recognized by SMC:

Community Media Ambassador: Jane Regan
Community Partner: Somerville Library
SMC Volunteer of the Year: Joe Lynch
SMC Volunteer of the Year: Sterling Golden
Outstanding Media Producer:  Ken McIntyre
Youth Media Leader: Rui Teixeira
Best Young Producer: Jacob Benevento
Intern of the Year: Arden Jurskis
Lifetime Achievement Award: KyAnn Anderson
Best New SCATV Show: DIWHY The Show (Andrew Lowrey)
Best Boston Free Radio On-Air DJ: Kirk Burns
Best SCATV Ensemble: Flotilla (Ben Gibbs & Pat Kernan)
Best Live TV Show Host: Melanie Morris
Best Live TV Show: Heavy Leather Topless Dance Party (Ken McIntyre)
Best BFR Music Show: Voices of Time (Alan Paterson)
Best Boston Free Radio Talk Show: Words on Film (Dan Burke)
Best Collaborative Project: Teens Take Action collaboration w/ Welcome Project/Teen Empowerment/Groundwork Somerville
Best Arts and Culture Program: Poet to Poet (Doug Holder)
Best BFR On-Air Ensemble: Boston Come Through (Genevieve Bien-Aime and Crystal Chander)
Best Youth Created Program: Ebi Sushi Documentary (Karla Cortez)
Best SMC Collaborative Special: Evolution of Hip Hop Festival (Lisa Ball)
Best BFR Podcast: Mister Bear’s Violet Hour Saloon
Best New BFR Radio Show: Let’s Talk About Race (Diane Wong)
Diverse Voices Award: Nossa Gente e Costumes (Nelson Carreiro)
Best Informational Show: StartUp TV Boston (Michael McCarthy)
Best Feature within a Series: What’s New Massachusetts: “13 Most Haunted Hotels” (Sam Baltrusis)
As mentioned at the event, this organization is truly about the people who comprise and interact with it — the staff, the board, the membership, the community of greater Somerville. So regardless of whether you’re receiving an award or not, I wanted to express a most heartfelt “Thank You” to all who have participated in community media over this past year.
On that note, part of this “Thank You” includes SMC extending the opportunity to our membership to submit content you have made over the past year (and are particularly proud of) to the Alliance for Community Media Hometown Media Awards. For those unfamiliar with the Alliance for Community Media (ACM) it is the national organization (of which SMC is a proud member) of the more than 3000 Public, Education & Government (PEG) Access Centers across the country that “works to protect the interests of these access centers and those who use PEG facilities and equipment to advance their causes through cable television and the Internet.” The Hometown Awards are the Emmys of Access Television, and SMC and its members have a proud history of Hometown recognition. Our programming coordinator Dave Ortega has already sent out the invitation with the particulars. So consider this a reminder that the opportunity to put your content up for national consideration is quickly approaching the deadline.